Skip Navigation
Log in to search
Funding Partner Web sites.
Learn More


Issues Network

The Consumer Voice in Behavioral Health: A Powerful Tool

March 29, 2011 2:00 pm (Eastern Time)

GIH Mental Health Audioconference Series 

When:             
Tuesday, March 29, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 12:00 p.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Pacific                                    

Who:               
Dr. Daniel Fisher, National Empowerment Center and Hogg Foundation for Mental Health’s National Advisory Council                                   
Tammy Heinz, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health 

What:              
Consumers, or recipients of mental health and substance use disorder services, can provide effective support to their peers and carry the message that recovery is possible. In addition, consumers are participating in training, evaluation, and policy development. The President’s New Freedom Commission for Mental Health report Achieving the Promise: Transforming Mental Health Care in America (2003) highlighted the importance of consumers in the design, delivery, and review of mental health services.  

Do you include consumers when planning behavioral health grants, special projects, publications, and convenings? Do you use consumers as consultants or hire consumers as employees? The speakers on this webinar each discussed their own recovery perspective and how this experience benefits their current work, and shared strategies to incorporate the consumer voice into foundation activities.